Nikki Skies

Years ago, when I began to read about the ancient African science of yoga and study Buddhism, there were exercises I practiced to silence my inner chatter.  I remember two of these exercises specifically.  One being to smile at everyone I come in contact with and the other was to give compliments.  I remember being hesitant on doing these because I didn’t want to be looked at as ‘weird’ and  because up until that point I felt like people needed to earn my trust or friendly demeanor.  My inner chatter told me that I have to put someone through the fire to share in my happiness and I had to struggle with them on almost every emotional realm before I could enjoy them.  Wow!  What was I thinking?

At the time, I was working at a bank in downtown Los Angeles.  On a daily basis, I came in contact with high profile persons with …

View original post 511 more words

